British Sign Language

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board' started by Stahlrost, Jun 13, 2018.

1. Sta

Stahlrost Well-Known Member

None
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley Dark
    This might sound like a daft question, but honestly I've no experience of this so as ever I'm asking the BBS for help. My German stepson works with severely disabled children in Germany, and he uses sign language to communicate with many of them. He wants to come to Barnsley to improve his sign language skills and he's asked me for help. Barnsley College do courses, but I've really no idea how sign language works.

For example, is it language based? If someone can sign to a good level with a German speaking child, would they be able to sign to an English speaking child, or would they need to learn an English version of sign language? Any info would be very useful, I'm trying to find out what level of course he would need to go on.

I know I'll get the odd daft reply, but if anyone knows more about this subject please help. Cheers lads and lasses.

2. JamDrop

JamDrop Well-Known Member

Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    There’s no worldwide sign language ‘language’, all countries are different to each other and some countries don’t have it at all (and some have more than one). That’s why ours is specifically referred to as ‘British Sign Language’.

3. Sta

None
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley Dark
    Thank you, I did predict it would be a "daft question"! That explains why he wants to come to England to learn the British version.

I've been in touch with Barnsley College and they won't know what course they are running until August, so I'll fob him off until then. You Reds!

4. Red

RedMonk Well-Known Member

Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    I've learnt all mine off Mr Tumble. :D

DSLRed, Shy Talk and selby like this.
  5. Sco

Scoff Well-Known Member

The interface between business and technology
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)