Cricket on Sky

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board' started by YTBFC, Jun 21, 2017.

1. YTB

YTBFC Guest

Just read a Guardian piece about F1 no longer being on free to air TV from 2019 and saw some startling figures. I don't see it as an issue for F1 so much but Christ, the cricket audience has dwindled since free to air was sacked off.

The Ashes of 2005 was seen by a peak viewing audience of 8.4m on free to air TV. The Sky audience for the last Ashes series averaged around 600,000 viewers.

There has been a 32% drop in people playing the sport since 2007.

Scary stuff.

FWIW, I have a Sky subscription, I don't apologise for that. I love F1 and football, love the darts and any rare free to air coverage is pathetic. I only watch highlights of the cricket these days, and it's good coverage to be fair, but it appears there's a direct link between that going behind a paywall and less folk taking the sport up.

I remember the good old days where all sport was on terrestrial TV. I must be getting old.

No real point to this thread. I'm on a train home and bored.

2. LDR

LDRed Well-Known Member

Groundhopper
    Style:
    Barnsley
    It was predicted at the time that the viewing figures would suffer. I couldn't give a toss about cricket, but even I found myself with it on in the background sometimes on C4.

3. Archey

Archey Well-Known Member

Style:
    Barnsley
    I can't stand cricket but even I watched the Ashes in 2005. It started (I think) whilst I was on study leave for my GCSE's so it was an alternative to that for me.

It obviously comes as no surprise that subscription services severely impact viewing figures but as you say, free to air services aren't a patch on Sky for the level of coverage.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk

Belperkez likes this.
  4. ryhilltyke

ryhilltyke Well-Known Member

Construction Worker
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)