Off topic - any builders on here?

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board' started by Sestren, Jun 29, 2017.

1. Ses

Sestren Well-Known Member

Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Or anybody in the building trade, really. I'm looking for extremely rough figures for a large-scale renovation. We're talking a triple (or quadruple)-fronted shop premises, two storeys, in a currently dilapidated condition and turned into a single commercial space, plus perhaps something different upstairs. I suspect the fabric of the building is sound, but everything inside would need ripping out and redoing from the ground up. It was in use maybe five years ago, but has lain empty since then.

I know that this isn't a huge amount of information, but I'm in the very early stages of planning here and just having a look at what might be possible. I have no experience in things that are this big but to give you an example of what I want, I'm ideally looking for something rounded to the closest £100k, or maybe a rough price per square metre for a project like this, if standard figures exist...

If anybody can give me a general idea then great - if not then no worries. I'm not using the BBS as my primary source! Just thought I'd throw it out there to see if anyone can help.

2. Donny Red

Donny Red Well-Known Member

Retired.
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    If I were you SES I would write a detailed Spec for the job and try and break it down to plumbing, electrical, glazing,
    building etc. I would then go on www.ratedpeople.com and put a guesstimate against each segment and advertise.
    When you get your responses invite each respondent to visit the job and give you a price for supply and fix and
    ask if they will quote you for fix only.

Local Builders Merchants publish trade price lists. Contact three of them e.g. BMB Buildbase on Wakefield Road,