Spanish goal ball played through to player who is onside but eventual goalscorer is offside ball controlled with the help of an arm then played to goalscorer who is now in an onside position but surely its still the same phase I am obviously missing something
I agree, I know it's the rules that the ball went to the other player first but when the goals order is stood in a so obviously offside position when the first ball was played it amazes me. Also as an aside I thought that the goalscorer was slightly ahead of the other Spain player when he played what looked like a forward pass to him so was offside anyway?
Lineker would have loved the rules these days, he could have just sat in the other teams half all the game and never been offside!
Just shown it again and the Spanish goalscorer was behind the guy that made the pass to him so I got that bit wrong
Agree on the offside, the goalscorer was in an offside position when ball played to his team mate and he continued his run. Shame Croatia could grab a late equaliser and put Italy out
No they wouldn't, The mini league (as commentator kept saying) would have had them all level with 1-1 draws, so it would have gone down to straight GD which would have been Spain on +4, Italy and Croatia on +2, with Croatia having scored 5 and Italy 4.
I think you are right but thats not what the BBC commentator said - think they got that wrong though as I did the same maths as you makes the duckwoth lewis method used in cricket look like a doddle
I don't see why so many people have a problem with this head to head malarky, they've done it before and it means you don't have a situation where a team already out can't influence it by playing a weakened team in last match to give experience and getting thumped by 6 or 7. BBC commentator was saying later that a goal for Croatia would take them through - think the producer had a word in his ear! Also a 2-2 or higher draw in Spain v Croatia and it wouldn't have mattered what Italy did.
What about the one in the first Irish game where a shot was taken from outside the box, the eventual scorer being offside at the time. The ball struck 2 defenders and ended up a tap-in for the said offside player and the goal was allowed. If the shot had been saved by the keeper instead and rebounded to the scorer, it would have been given offside. Something wrong somewhere.
Navas was onside when the ball was played to him, hence when he became 'active', I think they got it right.
But yet if a player is in an offside position as a shot is taken and then hits post or saved and he follows up it's flagged as offside. In this instance the player continued with his run to receive the ball so was not only seeking to gain an advantage but was gaining an advantage.
When the ball hits the post and comes back, it's still the same phase of play. When the assisting player (was it Fabregas) recieves the pass, that phase of play finishes and the next one starts, in which case Navas was back onside.