Back pass

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board ARCHIVE' started by fired, Feb 20, 2016.

  1. fir

    fired Administrator Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16,652
    Likes Received:
    12,802
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
  2. mat

    matthirst9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    brilliant
     
  3. Archey

    Archey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    26,745
    Likes Received:
    22,897
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Parts unknown
    Style:
    Barnsley
    I'm unsure of the rules of a back pass.

    If he'd have caught it, would the free kick have been awarded from where Beevers played the ball from, or where the keeper caught it? Because if it's the former, it seems pretty pointless for the keeper to head the ball over considering had he caught it, he'd have given away an indirect free kick near the half way line?

    Again I'm unsure of the rule.

    Sent from my I-Oven using the internets
     
  4. nezbfc

    nezbfc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    11,165
    Likes Received:
    6,972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Where keeper picks it up. That's the point the rule is broken. The offence is keeper touching it with his hands.
     
  5. Archey

    Archey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    26,745
    Likes Received:
    22,897
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Parts unknown
    Style:
    Barnsley
    That would make sense. Cheers.

    Sent from my I-Oven using the internets
     
  6. Gre

    Greybeard Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    If the keeper had caught or controlled it in any way, it's the offense of the keeper and as such an indirect free kick no nearer than the 6yd line.
    However he is allowed to make a save, so no offense if he tipped it over with his hands.
     
  7. ubi

    ubique_tyke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,159
    Likes Received:
    3,855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Yeah surely he could have just tipped it over?? I just thought it was if the keeper picked it up?
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    West Melton
    No its if He touches it with his hands.
     
  9. Farnham_Red

    Farnham_Red Administrator Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    34,523
    Likes Received:
    23,962
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Farnham
    Style:
    Barnsley
    Silly question but had he tipped it over would he be sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity An outfield player would does that also apply to the keeper?
     
  10. nezbfc

    nezbfc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    11,165
    Likes Received:
    6,972
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Back-pass_rule

    Wikipedia yes. But should explain it
     

Share This Page