Changing the rules so that Tiger Woods gets a 2 shot penalty rather than a disaqualification - which is what would have happened in any other competition and to just about any other playerro, based on a very generous interpretation of a rule brought in to cover a different situation. Bet if it had been a non American the usual disqualificaton rule would have been applied
to be fair to them they didnt change the rules. a rule change was implemented a while ago. They look at the incident whilst Tiger was still on the course and said the one stroke penalty was correct, Then after a viewer pointed it out to the tv company it was reviewed again this morning. That newish rule said if a player was deemed to have made a mistake then rather than disqualify them it would be a 2 stroke penalty. I personally agree with you that if it had been someone else or a non American they would have been disqualified. Nick Faldo on US tv hear said Tiger should have just disqualified himself this morning, but he hasnt. I just hope he doesnt win it
What happened? Bear in mind that I don't know much about golf, so any explanation would have to be in the simplest terms.
ill try my best for you. Yesterday tiger hit a shot into the 15th hole. the ball hit the pin and ricotched into the water. Tiger went to the drop area and said it was too wet and muddy so elected to play his shot from the original position. He went and played his shot and took a one stroke penalty, but later admitted he took the ball 2 yard further back from the original shot thus he signed a score card that was wrong because he should have had a 2 stroke penalty not the one that he signed for
Bloody hell! Golf's a complicated sport isn't it! So is the onus on the player to mark everything down correctly and keep score rather than a referee?
forgot to add that during play the officials reviewed the situation and said he was correct with the one stroke penalty. then after the tv interview and a view pointing it out they reviewed and then decided it was a 2 stroke penalty,but because of there original decision they said no disqualification and issued him 2 stroke penalty I THINK
He admitted in a TV interview that he dropped the ball two yards back from his original position with the intention of playing exactly the same shot, which would have left his ball in a good place on the green. Firstly he's supposed to drop it as near to the original spot as possible, but what he actually did do was use the ordinal spot as a marker, go back two yards and use it to his benefit. He effectively gained an advantage, that was the rule contravention.