I played a round of golf last night and for the first time in over 40 years of golf holed my tee shot on a par 3 Does it count as a hole in one if it was a provisional ball? I had hooked my fist attempt into the long grass to the left of the green and wasnt at all sure I would find it. Obviously I didn't look very hard for the original - I did find it shortly after we had concluded it was lost and had declared my provisional ball was the one in play and then had a quick look where I though it really was. It was only social golf - I think if it had been a competition I would have had to play my first ball as a proper look would have found it, though I am not 100% sure on that rule these days. At one time you could declare any ball lost but I think that rule was changed and now you have to look for the first one, and although you can declare a ball unplayable and re-take the tee shot I don't think you can use the provisional ball in that case - any rules guru's know for sure
good question matey, not sure. But a lost ball is loss of stroke and distance....so technically that would have been your third shot. But hey still a good feeling with the provisional ball.
Well done anyway FR. I've never had one but my ex had three! I have parred the 17th at Sawgrass though. Damn, i swore i'd not mention that. Oh well, too late now.
I`d agree with the drinks being on you in the clubhouse but if I was playing against you - no chance!
No, it’s a par in 3 I’m afraid. Frustrating for you though is that! I’ve been playing for over 40 years and I’ve never had a hole in one either....
Fortunately the Clubhouse is currently closed so the question of buying a round of drinks never arose Did give my opponent a can of Ghost Ship as we had our post game beer after the game in a nearby parking place but that was as far as it went
You can declare your first ball 'lost', even if you do find it. As soon as you deem it lost your provisional ball becomes 'live'. Unfortunately it's not a hole in one.
My modesty forbids me, but I've had plural, including one at a (short) par 4 - ok very short par 4 I only saw one enter the hole though......
I once hit a ball smack down the middle of the fairway on the second hole at Pontefract. Cracking shot. I walked down the fairway to where my ball should have landed and couldn't find it. I even cheekily looked in the hole. To this day I don't know what happened to my ball.
I was once playing with my Boss at his local course and he hit a pretty decent shot to the middle of the green from around 170 yards. shortly after the ball stopped a Magpie flew down - picked the ball up and flew away with it. Had we not seen it happen we would never have believed it, and would have been baffled about what happened to the ball - maybe something similar happened to yours?
Thats not correct - strictly you cant declare a ball lost quoting from the R&R rules " A player may not make a ball lost by declaration. A ball is only lost when it has not been found within 3 minutes after a player, his partner or caddie starts looking for it" Clearly if you don't want to find it you can accidentally look in the wrong place - not sure what happens if an opponent helpfully finds it. when you dont want it found