This could be a slightly controversial view, but I found it strange that we were awarded a penalty earlier. It was a foul on Scowen, no doubt about it. But Scowen was initially fouled on what looked like a yard outside the area. I think the referee attempted to give Scowen the benefit of the doubt as he'd somehow managed to bounce back to his feet, before he was hacked down again, inside the area. Now although the referee didn't signal for an advantage, I thought he would have pulled it back for the earlier foul which happened outside the area and eventually led to the penalty. I reckon anywhere else on the pitch he would have done. Nevertheless, a penalty was awarded, and we won the game. Rotten luck for what was an otherwise fine defensive display from Burton, something I predicted pre match.
I had a good view form ESU and thought it was a blatant dive myself. The one bit of Scowen's game I don't enjoy.
The first foul appeared to be in the area, which the ref seemed to ignore, until the second challenge took place. Looked a stone wall penalty from ESL.
It was scowen. I thought the first foul was in the area. I thought the actual pen was a dive, but the ref gave it has he realised he'd made a mistake not giving it for the first one
Must admit I was a million miles away from it in the Ponte but they both looked like fouls from there. Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
Scowen was fouled inside the box. Definitely a penalty, but the referee didn't give it. He then attempted to carry on and stumbled/dove and the referee gave it. I was sat fairly close, and I've seen it again on TV since.
Doesn't really look that way on TV, although I know what you mean about Scowen going down easily. He did it at Guiseley and it was quote embarrasing. Today though he got clipped initially, but stumbled and carried on when he could have gone down, and then got bundled over. Looking at the referee's reaction, had it been outside the box you would have got the impression that he had played advantage from the initial foul and then brought it back, but refs obviously don't do that in the box. We could have had two more penalties for blatant pushes in the box too, one in each half. The one in the second half was quite ridiculous.
The first one was a clear foul in the area & wasn't given. The 2nd was a dive & was given as a pen. Either way the right decision was made even if it wasn't for the right incident so no harm done