snooker question???

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board ARCHIVE' started by rothred, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. rot

    rothred Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Keith hills PR adviser
    Location:
    On the sofa
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    the other day I was playing in a game when I went in off the last red, the red came to rest flush up to the green and brown ball right on the baulk line.The 3 balls were so tight together it wasimpossible to place the white anywhere in the &quot;D&quot; and be able to hit the red.</p>

    Couldn't think how to proceed, so I gave him a free ball to count as a red. Was I right??</p>
     
  2. Eaststand Lower

    Eaststand Lower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,681
    Likes Received:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tarn End
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    If You Won Does It Matter??

    Free Ball: After a foul, if the cue ball is snookered, the referee or player shall state "Free Ball." If the non-offending layer takes the next stroke he may nominate any ball as on. For this stroke, such ball shall be regarded as, and acquire the value of, the ball on. It is a foul should the cue ball fail to first hit, or - except when only the pink and black remain on the table - be snookered by, the free ball. If the "free ball" is potted, is is spotted, and the value of the ball on is scored. if the ball on is potted it is scored. If both the "free ball" and the ball on are potted, only the value of the ball on is scored.
     
  3. tar

    tarnfan1912 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    yes mate, the cueball should have been placed anywhere in the D and the opponent can nominate a freeball
     
  4. Googs

    Googs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wilthorpe
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Bloody good question mate, but what a scenario. I must have played a thousand frames of snooker and never had that! I would have been in the same situation as you. Not known what to do so offered a free-ball.
     
  5. rot

    rothred Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Keith hills PR adviser
    Location:
    On the sofa
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    I once saw something dafter

    once in a match in the peggy tub in stocksbridge, a player broke off by gently rolling the cue ball off the packand on to the side cushion. Then the pair of them continued to roll the cue ball up to the reds for the next 30 minutes until all 15 were in a clump on the top cushion, at which point the ref got fed up and racked the reds up and started again</p>
     
  6. Googs

    Googs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wilthorpe
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Sounds like the players were taking the piss. What an horrendous sounding game!
     
  7. rot

    rothred Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,452
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Keith hills PR adviser
    Location:
    On the sofa
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    almost as boring

    as Windy, Jay and Dirk discussing bumfunnerry for the nine millionth time
     
  8. Googs

    Googs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    8,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wilthorpe
    Home Page:
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    Bloody hell, there's nothing funnier than that. Not even Jim Davidson.
     
  9. Gue

    Guest Guest

    Surely it's a free ball.....

    ... if he can't see both sides of the object ball.
     

Share This Page