I’m no football expert, as you know. But, the pressing game..

Discussion in 'Bulletin Board' started by Mr C, Feb 14, 2021.

1. Mr C

Mr C Well-Known Member

Saving the world.
    Style:
    Barnsley (full width)
    ?? Not new to football & not new to us. Much like a long ball tactic, which we’ve also deployed to lesser effect. I was always suspicious of it, as a desperate admittance that we couldn’t take a team on at football, which we have also been known to do, more often than not.
    press, press, press, stifle the opposition, don’t allow them to play etc. Often leads to boring, stalemate matches.? But recently, against Norwich & Chelsea in the cup & again today, we’ve taken the tactic to another level, almost an art form. Even Man City will close you down, but have never seen a determination to force a game to be played massively so in the opposition’s half. As impressive as the result was today, I think the Norwich match was the better performance. Chelsea & the Bees haven’t been studying us enough or simply couldn’t deal with it.
    I think we do have the ability to play through teams. & that might show, if, on the off chance, we have little to play for, come April.
    See? Apart from scoring all sorts of spectacular goals, I don’t know much about football..;)

Connor, Kettlewell, Redhelen and 2 others like this.
  2. KFC

KFC Well-Known Member

Style:
    Barnsley
    I hugely doubt that the teams we're up against aren't studying the way we play and trying to find ways around it. Maybe in VI's first few games, but not now. We've been too good to ignore.

So we have to conclude we've been too good for our opponents, which as a BFC fan is a hard conclusion to draw! Our press has been hugely successful, and I think we can give credit to the gaffer for that. The players are so well drilled.